VICTORIA, BC – Victoria Highlanders FC will host open tryouts for the club’s Premier Development League (PDL) and Pacific Coast Soccer League (PCSL) teams, as well as a newly formed Highlanders Futures program. The tryouts will occur April 23, from 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. at the University of Victoria.


WHO: Players interested in participating in one of three Victoria Highlanders programs in 2017
WHAT: Open Tryouts
WHERE: University of Victoria Turf Field (Turf 2A)
WHEN: 3:00-5:00 p.m., April 23, 2017
WHY: To provide an opportunity for aspiring players to showcase their talent ahead of the 2017 season

“The open trials allow players an opportunity to discover where they fit amongst players at the next level,” Highlanders FC head coach David Dew remarked. “With the Highlanders creating a Reserve Team and the Futures program, it allows these players an opportunity to progress through each level.”

United Soccer League’s PDL First Team

The Highlanders First Team will compete in 14 regular season games in the PDL’s Pacific Division, which includes teams such as Seattle Sounders U-23, Calgary Foothills U-23, TSS Rovers, Lane United (Eugene, Oregon), and Portland Timbers U-23.

PCSL Reserve Team

The Highlanders’ Reserve team will play in 10 games in a division alongside the UBC Thunderbirds, Khalsa SC, Vancouver United, Kamloops Heat SC and Penticton Soccer Club.

Highlanders Futures Program

Players can register to participate in Highlanders training throughout the summer months as potential candidates for future Highlanders teams in the PDL and PCSL. The Highlanders Futures program adds a new stage in the club’s overall development pyramid.

Interested players can contact Highlanders Head Coach David Dew at for more information. Additional info will be made available on The Highlanders recognize that players may still be committed to their Provincial Cup play downs and support all players in representing their clubs.

The Highlanders kick off their 2017 season on May 14 at Centennial Stadium against Lane United FC at 2:00 p.m. PST. For 2017 tickets, please click HERE or visit for more information.